Mifflin Trophy

The Mifflin Trophy is awarded each year for the longest flight* made during the contest (excluding guests). The trophy was created by the Mifflin County Airport Authority in 2008 as a way of supporting the soaring competitions that have been held at the airport since 1990.  All the design and fabrication of the trophy was done by members of the Authority who applied the skills and resources of their private occupations to provide this award. The winning pilot receives a winner’s plaque while the trophy remains at the airport with the winner’s names added each year.

* Starting in 2010, the longest flight will be determined after applying the SSA Sports Class handicap for the aircraft and using the unadjusted handicap weight.



Name Distance (sm)
2019 Evan Ludeman 566.20
2018 Mike Robison 282.04
2017 Bif Huss 317.29
2016 John Good 233.05
2015 John Good 385.23
2014 John Good / Nicolas Bennet 307.66
2013 Karl Striedieck 367.91
2012 John Cochrane 213.22
2011 Jerzy Szemplinski 189.84
2010 Tim Welles 292.64
2009 Mike Robison 375.37
2008 Sean Murphy 230.64


theme by teslathemes